INNISFIL, ON (August 24, 2023) — Six talented young Canadian drivers have been chosen as candidates for the 2023 Team Canada Scholarship (TCS) program.  Two drivers will be selected by our TCS judges to contest the 52nd Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch in England on October 21/22 and the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone, on November 4/5.

Due to the unfortunate cancellation of this year’s shoot-out, the six selected candidates have been asked to submit a package consisting of an essay, video, and race day vlog outlining why they should be considered as one of this year’s two Team Canada Scholarship drivers.

Upon submission, the packages will be reviewed by our TCS panel of judges; including IndyCar stars James Hinchcliffe and IMSA Driver Robert Wickens, as well as Team Canada Scholarship founder Brian Graham and owner of Brain Graham Racing (BGR), IMSA driver Kyle Marcelli, and renowned IMSA engineer Ian Willis.

The six finalists were chosen from the top amateur Canadian drivers, ages 16-20, from all aspects of the sport

The selected drivers are:

  • Mario Gil 19, British Columbia – Karting (West
  • Antonio Costantino 16, British Columbia – F1600
  • Alex Berg 16, Alberta – USF4
  • Logan Pacza 16, Ontario – F1600
  • Laurent Legault xx, Quebec – Karting (East)
  • Callum Baxter 17, Nova Scotia – F1600

“The 11th edition of the Team Canada Scholarship program once again demonstrates the quality of young Canadian racers competing across the country and in the USA” says founder Brian Graham.

“I am very pleased to present the six finalists for the selection process to become Team Canada Scholarship drivers.  From coast to coast, these young drivers have impressed all season. The judges have a hard task ahead of them to choose our two drivers for 2023.

Stayed tuned for the announcement of the successful candidates in a few weeks’ time.

Full details of the Team Canada Scholarship Shootout, the selection criteria, and details on our panel of prestigious judges are available at the website

About the Team Canada Scholarship 

Started in 2011 by Brian Graham of Brian Graham Racing, the Team Canada Scholarship was launched to send young Canadian drivers to battle with the best young drivers in the world at the legendary Formula Ford Festival held at the Brands Hatch circuit and the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone each Fall. The mission of the Team Canada Scholarship is to grow amateur motorsports in Canada by raising the profile of the sport and providing opportunities for aspiring young racers to move up through the ranks and get international motorsports experience and exposure.

For all Press enquiries please contact Kelly Graham at

Share This