What is Team Canada Scholarship?

In 2011, Team Canada Scholarship (TCS) sent its first drivers to the Brands Hatch motor racing circuit in England to compete in the prestigious Formula Ford Festival representing Canada. The Formula Ford Festival is an annual meeting of single seat Formula Ford racing cars, which is held at the end of the British racing season. In 2021 it celebrated its 50th Anniversary!

This event is a rare opportunity for drivers to compare their skills with other competitors who take part in different open wheel competitions across the world. Many winners of the festival have gone on to enjoy professional racing careers in various branches of motorsport – including many who have raced in Formula One.

In fact, 25% of all the winners have done so!

1976Derek DalyHesketh, Ensign, Tyrrell, March, Theodore, Williams
1977Chico SerraFittipaldi, Arrows
1980Roberto MorenoLotus, Theodore Racing, AGS, Willams, Benetton, Jordon, Minard
1981Tommy ByrneTheodore Racing
1982Julian BaileyTyrrell, Lotus
1985Johnny HerertBenetton, Tyrrell, Lotus, Ligier, Sauber, Stewart, Jaguar
1986Roland RatzenbergerSimtek
1987Eddie IrvineJordan, Ferrari, Jaguar
1992Jan MagnussenMcLaren, Stewart
1996Mark WebberMinardi, Jaguar, Williams, Red Bull
1998Jenson ButtonWillams, Benetton, Renault, BAR, Honda, McLaren, Braun
2000Anthony DavidsonMinardi, BAR, Honda, Aguri

Chosen from Canada’s elite amateur drivers, competing in open wheel racing, Team Canada Scholarship drivers are given the opportunity to race against many of the top-level talent from around the world in an international event. Modelled after the extremely successful Team USA Scholarship, we have been able to assist in advancing the careers of alumni like Garett Grist, Scott Hargrove, Parker Thompson, Zach Robichon, and others.

Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons

Congratulations Zacharie Robichon
#alumni2013Happy to say @ryanhardwick_16 and I will be bringing the @1stphorm and @mountainmotorsports_ colours to Europe this year in the @elms_official series. We’ll be joined by @alessiopicariello for the championship, Alessio was as quick as anyone on track last year and im looking forward to working with him.

A bit of musical chairs for me @protoncompetition after last years run in the #93 car. I’m happy to once again have the opportunity to go racing in this amazing car with this great team.

And yes, we’ll also be racing at 100 year anniversary of the @24heuresdumans .
#porsche #porschersr #protoncompetition #1stphorm #iam1stphorm #pfaffmotorsports
... See MoreSee Less

Congratulations Zacharie Robichon

Such great news for our sponsor! So thankful to have their support.
Drivers - check them out!It’s official!!! Road To Racing has been approved as Canada’s very first MOTORSPORTS CHARITY!!! We can now sponsor amateur motorsports athletes using Charitable tax receipts donations.

We will be working hard to put together a fundraising platform shortly so stay tuned.
... See MoreSee Less

Such great news for our sponsor!  So thankful to have their support. 
Drivers - check them out!
Load more




Share This